top of page

The National Student Board Member Association is excited to announce its inaugural fall training conference:
The 2023 Student Trustee Action Readin
ess Training Conference
 

START 2023

August 18-20, 2023

ECC_7798_edited.jpg
ECC_7748.JPG
ECC_8122.JPG

Recognizing the unique role of students serving on school boards, NSBMA’s START Conference trains the nation’s incoming Student Board Members in preparation for a term of service and dedication to a sole student constituency. 

NSBMA's START Conference curriculum utilizes informational, experiential, and intergenerational education to train student board members on board service. 

The START Conference experience deeply immerses delegates into the intricate technicalities of board service and the reality of student board service.

START 2023 Schedule

Friday - August 18th, 2023

4PM PST/7PM EST

6PM PST/9PM EST

On day one of the START Conference, student board members will learn the core aspects of board governance,  board policy, the role of the student board member, and the national educational mission. Delegates will also be sorted into their personalized council groups, with whom they will spend the rest of the conference working. Attendance on Day 1 is MANDATORY and will serve as a setup for the rest of the START curriculum and training. 

Saturday - August 19, 2023

9AM PST/12PM EST

3PM PST/6PM EST

On day two of the START Conference, delegates shall be officially sorted into their conference council groups and assigned a council staff member and a research and policy team member, both former student board members. These START staffers will work personally with delegates, walking them through the creation of their START council project: a complete board policy proposal. Delegates will also learn about board meetings, LEA budgeting, and student outreach on day two.

Sunday - August 20, 2023

9AM PST/12PM EST

3PM PST/6PM EST

On day three of the START Conference, delegates will undergo a Mock Board Meeting and receive personalized advice from venerated and accomplished former student board members before finalizing their START projects. Finally, delegates will get a chance at the end of START to present their projects to NSBMA's Intergenerational Partner Cohort, an esteemed group of adult and student partners from across the nation. 

START
2023

Virtually
August 18-20, 2023

ECC_7877.JPG

Testimonials

Screenshot 2023-06-25 at 1.28.45 AM.png
"The START Conference is an immersive training and professional development experience all student board members should attend."

Naomi Porter, 2022-2023 California State Student Board Member

Need assistance with conference funding?
Email us here!

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

Reach out

bottom of page